Soul

Indoor Gardening Made Easy

So if you’re anything like me, your green thumb is more of a turquoise pinky.  Does that make any sense? Maybe my analogy skills are just as strong as my gardening skills.  Basically I’ve always wanted to grow indoor plants, but didn’t have the slightest of where to begin.  Lucky for me my mother happens to be an expert gardener- both indoors and out- and she shared her tips with me.  And lucky you, I am going to share the same tips with you!

First things first… pots.

If I am going to have a permanent fixture in my house (and let’s hope it’s permanent… I don’t want to kill my plants to quickly!), it has to go with my design scheme.  I have a central 3-4 colors I use for each room of my house that I like to coordinate all of my decor with or at least match with complementary colors.  I knew my new plants were going to go into my bedroom, so I wanted to find pots to match my bedroom color scheme (gold, teal, pink, white).  Unfortunately, I could not find any in stores that I liked.  Fortunately, I happened across this tutorial from Pottery Barn on how to DIY your own gold-dipped terra-cotta pots.

gold-dipped-plant-pots1

So cute, right?

I was able to purchase all of the supplies (except the aquarium rocks) from Home Depot.  I still haven’t purchased the rocks because I can’t find them anywhere (I’m thinking I will have to go to a pet store) and it’s easier to water my plants without the rocks anyway.

After painting my pots, it was time to select my plants.

Tips for selecting your plants:

  1. Consider the conditions of where your plant will live.  How much light reaches that area?  What is the temperature (in winter? in summer?).  What is the humidity level?  If you use air conditioning or a heating system, your humidity will vary season to season.  If you are concerned about humidity levels, consider investing in a humidifier for your plants.  Affordable humidifiers can be found in the baby department of most major stores- and unless you have a very large room, a baby humidifier will work perfectly.  If a humidifier isn’t your thing, consider keeping your plant in the kitchen or the bathroom as these are generally the most humid rooms in a home.
  2. Consider any pets or children in your home.  Many plants are toxic for humans and/or animals when consumed.  Most plants will have this information on the plant tag.  It is never a bad idea to do a quick google search before purchasing though.  FYI: cacti are a pretty safe bet as they are fairly difficult to eat without pricking yourself 😉
  3. Consider how high-maintenance of a plant you have time for.   Some plants will require a fairly large amount of effort compared to other “low-maintenance” plants.  For example, jasmine plants require very specific watering schedules and environmental conditions, whereas a cactus is pretty hands-off and can survive in most conditions.
  4. Consider how much space you will have.  Some plants will sprout new buds and continue to grow for their entire lifespan.  Others will pretty much stay the same size that they are when you buy them.  Think about how much space you have in your designated area and how large your pot is.

Other than that, it’s totally up to your preferences!  IMG_3334

Here is how my plants turned out!  I found it funny I picked the same variety of cactus as the Pottery Barn DIY.  It must have made quite the impression in my mind 🙂  My other plant is a zebra plant.

Happy gardening!

Leave a Reply

